Love the fashion life

My thoughts on Fashion, Love, Life and New York…

Dior Couture..*

As I announced this morning (here) I was looking forward to Dior’s Couture collection. As expected Raf Simons didn’t disappoint.

You may remember Simons’s first Dior Couture collection, the one for Fall 2012. The Belgian designer had the walls covered in thousands of flowers. Today, for his Spring 2013 Couture collection, the flowers didn’t decorate the room, but the clothes. Simons used leaves on dresses, peplum tops and corsets, as well as simple, adorable flower fabrics. This made his collection extra feminine and delicate.

_ARC0264b.450x675

_ARC0271.450x675

_ARC0427.450x675

Read the rest of this entry »

Suit up for Couture..*

Now Men’s Fashion Week is over, it’s time for the Couture Shows.

Yesterday Versace had the honor of being the first to show its Spring 2013 Couture line. Normally ‘Couture’-pieces  are very ‘un-wearable’ for the (wo)man on the street. They’re often only suitable to wear to chique events such as the Oscars. Nevertheless, Donatella Versace was able to surprise me with a very wearable collection. She was definitely inspired by the upcoming trend of the ‘alpha females’. This was reflected in a lot of feminine suits with the typical Versace edginess, in Versace’s typical black or bright and bold fabrics.

Though I’d probably still not wear the suits to work, I can definitely see myself wearing them to a lunch or dinner date (especially that pink outfit!). Here are my favorites:

_ARC0655.450x675

Read the rest of this entry »