Pied de Poule..*

by Maxime_Morel

When the postcard above arrived in my mailbox this morning, it suddenly hit me.. I totally forgot to tell you about my new favorite store! I’ve been postponing it for quite some time and with my exams it also kinda skipped my mind, due to lack of time. BUT thank God, my re-examinations are over. I’m back in ‘holiday mode’ and relaxed! So… let’s meet PIED DE POULE!

I discovered Pied de Poule a while ago through CityZine, a small and free pocketbook with must-dos, must-sees, must-eats and must-visits in different regions in Belgium (such as our Belgian Coast and Antwerp). You can get them at all of the featured places. Every time I see a new edition, I take one with me to be up to date about recent events and new shops in town. And of course I have to check them out as well! The description of Pied de Poule seemed pretty promising: “Exquisite selection of fine designer clothing, shoes and accessories for fashionable women. Monthly novelties. Also, color- and style advice”. I have to admit, the description wasn’t exagerated at all!

When visiting Pied de Poule it was still July, yes SALES! This came in quite handy, because I still didn’t know my travel plans for September. I was brave, bit my tongue and kept my wallet quite closed, which was tough when seeing the FW2012 collection. In the end I bought a Marc by Marc Jacobs summer dress on discount. It is definitely one of my best purchases in the past couple of years. It’s a Jackie Kennedy classic styled dress in dark blue with pale pink accents, long sleeved and a small belt. Very flattering and mature, yet not too old. I’d even be able to wear it when over 30! It’s kind of a ‘forever’ piece!

My Marc by Marc Jacobs Paloma dress

My Marc by Marc Jacobs Paloma dress
Photo Courtesy: The Style Cure

Though Pied de Poule may not be the cheapest shop in town, it’s definitely the most stylish one. Lindsey Standaert, the owner, has great taste. She selects clothing that are perfect assets to every woman’s wardrobe. Every selected piece is a ‘basic’ item with a twist, which makes them unique, gorgeous and worth investing in. The clothes aren’t pieces that you’ll have one year. No, you’ll probably own them for at least five years, if not longer!

These were my favorites:

Top to bottom, left to right: MaxMara Afra Coat / See by Chloé Sweater / Sportmax Dress - back / Pamela Love Claw Bangle / Marc by Marc Jacobs Intergalocktic Bracelet / Sportmax Dress - back / Marc by Marc Jacobs Bowling Bag

Top to bottom, left to right: MaxMara Afra Coat / See by Chloé Sweater / Sportmax Dress – back / Pamela Love Claw Bangle / Marc by Marc Jacobs Intergalocktic Bracelet / Sportmax Dress – back / Marc by Marc Jacobs Bowling Bag 

Besides fabulous clothing, great accessories are sold as well! With brands such as Wouters & Hendrix, Ba&sh, (soon) Pamela Love and Hipanema, you will be able to choose the right handbag or piece of jewelry to match your outfit.

Pied de Poule just has it all and makes a picture complete. It will be difficult not visiting it every time when I’m at the sea shore!

Pied de Poule 
Rogierlaan 62
8400 Oostende 
Belgium 
Brands: Isabel Marant étoile, Marc by Marc Jacobs, See by Chloé, Paul and Joe sister, Wouters & Hendrix, A.F. Vandevorst, Pamela Love, and many more! 

xo

M.

