GIMME: Chanel 2.55

by Maxime_Morel

picture: stylefrizz.com

Every century has its iconic pieces. The Chanel 2.55 bag is definitely one of the most famous pieces of the 20th century. Produced in 1955, it is, until today, a to-die-for handbag. I don’t know a single woman that wouldn’t want to own this Chanel piece. Although its look changed a bit over the years, Chanel’s current designer of accesories, Laetitia Crahay (a Belgian btw!) remained faithfull to its original design. Currently the bag’s lock isn’t always the famous double CC anymore, but a rectangle. I remain old fashioned and therefore I am more fond of the original execution.

Upon today I am wishing for this high end designer piece, ever since I was 14 years old. It caught my attention in the Fox series: The OC. I think Mischa Barton, aka Marissa Cooper, owns almost every Chanel handbag. At the time I was obsessed with her. I loved her sense of style, her figure, her hair and her handbags. When she left the show she ended up in a downward spiral. She lost the sweet girly chic look and went more grunge, dated some wrong guys and coloured her hair in the most hideous colours. Thank God the handbag remained elegant and even in hideous colours, it is always amazingly beautiful.

With the bag’s rising popularity, its price has risen as well. Vintage bags can easily go up to $3000 and new ones cost over $2000. It seems that history determines the price as well.

Well with my first (two?) wages I am still going to buy this handbag, in black! Some of you will think I’m crazy, but if you take into account that it already exists for over 55 years, you’ll realise that even your children might be able to enjoy it as well. I’ve wanted the Chanel 2.55 for 8 years now and I’m still not sick of its look. I guess there are many more years to come, to love and enjoy it.

xo

M.

