Winter 2010 isn’t over yet, or the F/W collections 2011 have already arrived..*

by Maxime_Morel

Today it’s the first day of New York Fashion Week. Since I am interning at “De Rode Loper” until the end of March, I won’t be able to tell you all of my amazing stories behind the scenes in NYC (unfortunately!). But thank god for those amazing fashion sites that give an everyday overview of what has been showed.

I only have seen seven shows and already some trends crossed my eye. One of them are the big sleeves. The coats aren’t only wide on you body, but also on the sleeves. They are HUGE! Although I really love such coats, not everybody can wear them. Even if you only have small curves, you can look like triangle because of the coats’ “wideness”. It all depends on the cut and the colour. If the coat itself is straight, maybe almost everyone can get away with it! I hope this trend will also appear in the following shows.

St. John

Steven Alan

John Patrick

Z Spoke by Zac Posen

The other trends I’ve noticed are FUR and CAMEL. Those factors were already trends in the F/W 2010 collections and apparently every one who has bought some camel or fur this year, will still be ‘as trendy as hell’ next year. Camel is in my opinion always chique, elegant and sophisticated. More important, it’s a colour that fits everybody. It doesn’t matter if you have brown, blond, black or red hair. Camel goes with everything! The fur-fact is something I need to think about. I do like the way it looks, but I only love fake fur or faux fur (as it was called this season). If fake fur looks as good as real fur, why should we kill all of those innocent creatures?

Rachel Zoë

Steven Alan

Rachel Zoë

BCBG Max Azria

Rachel Zoë

And of course black is something we come across every season. I guess in winter black and grey will never run out of style.

Rachel Zoe

BCBG Max Azria

BCBG Max Azria

Rachel Zoe

New update this weekend!

xoxo

